Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Victorino Wins Lou Gehrig Award

The Phi Delta Theta International Fraternity annually awards "the Lou Gehrig Memorial Award to the Major League Baseball Player who best exemplifies the spirit and character of Brother Lou Gehrig, both on and off the field". For 2008 the award was given to the Phillies Shane Victorino, for his commitment to the city of Philadelphia and his actions for those fighting ALS.

"Traditionally, the Gehrig Award has recognized veteran players who have made an impact through a long standing relationship with their community,” says Sean Wagner, spokesman for the Lou Gehrig Memorial Award Committee and Associate Executive Vice President of Phi Delta Theta. “The fact that Shane has won this award at such an early stage in his career demonstrates the incredible impact he has had in the fight against ALS as well as on the City of Philadelphia, and speaks volumes about him as an individual.”


“When Shane makes a commitment, you can count on him to do his very best work and rely on his positive attitude” says Suzanne Bruce, Co-Founder of the SaVes4ALS program. “We are proud to have him recognized for his support and efforts in this meaningful way”.
The award is to be presented to Victorino prior to the 4:05 PM game against the Mets on July 4th. Legendary broadcaster Harry Kalas was to take part in the ceremony but unfortunately passed away last week.
Originally scheduled to participate in this presentation was Phillies Hall of Fame Announcer and member of Phi Delta Theta, Harry Kalas. Although he passed away prior to the presentation, Kalas will be with his Fraternity Brothers in spirit to present the award to Victorino. Kalas had served as a member of the Gehrig Committee since 1994 helping select the winner each year and represented the committee at Veterans Stadium in 1995 when Curt Schilling won the award.
Victorino, like the entire Phillies organization, had a lot of respect for Kalas. It would have been very fitting for Kalas to participate in the event.

Last year's winner was Red Sox reliever Mike Timlin. You can read more about the Lou Gehrig Award here.

Congratulations to Shane!

No comments: